Work on Permaculture Property

Many people want to work on permaculture property and some looking for permaculture internships approach us looking for practical permaculture work to put their theoretical understanding into practise and get their hands dirty.

We welcome Wayfarers

At Brogo Permaculture Gardens we don’t offer internships but we do have periods during the year when it would be beneficial for us to have assistance on the property and the barter is that you get to do permaculture practical work with expert teacher and practitioner John Champagne,decent accommodation and you are well fed. Often we gain this assistance from travellers who have been personally recommended by other permaculture properties. We call these travellers “Wayfarers”.

Wayfarers are “people  who travel from place to place usually by walking” -you don’t need to be walking in 2016! Come by car, bike or bus! We also like to think that wayfarers have a sense of purpose- Johnny Appleseed was a great wayfarer wandering across the country, always planting apple seeds. While Johnny planted appleseeds ( which are good in themselves but we have enough apples) we want our wayfarers to have permaculture learning as their sense of purpose.

What would you be doing?

Work is seasonal and varies on a day to day basis. John or Sharon would work with you at all times to ensure that you know the right way to do things and that your experiences are great learning experiences.

Currently we have home maintenance tasks ( painting, preparation, finishing off tasks ) for anyone who has a bit of experience in that area; building (including some carpentry) food preparation ( fruit preserving, general cooking, freezer filling),computer work ( marketing of courses and updating website) as well as general garden maintenance.

Our work changes with the season and can be weather dependent- ie we are in a long dry spell right now so little planting is occurring.

When can you come and for how long?

Contact us if you are wanting to come and work with us and indicate when you are seeking to come. what your interests are and what skills you offer. Please read the following to determine if this opportunity is what you are looking for:

  • We are currently doing some finishing off and maintenance work to the ownerbuilt mudbrick house – if you have practical skills this is for you.

    There is ongoing  work on the property- the type depends on the season.
    Interest in Permaculture is desirable though we welcome anyone who is prepared to live as part of our family and have a go alongside us. We love to hear about your home and culture and share ours with you. We also have other volunteers staying at times.
    We live in a rural area, 20 minutes from a small town and 3 hours from Canberra, 6 hours from Melbourne and Sydney. Buses run from major cities on a daily basis and we can collect from bus stops if needed. Having your own transport is great as we live in an area of natural beauty with many national parks, beaches etc to explore.
    We have five children , all have left home and are either working, studying or travelling.Our five children are at various stages of life and all return home on an irregular basis.
    We teach and practice Permaculture including creating a food forest, developing vegetable gardens and introducing animals into the system. We have a Permaculture teaching focus , teaching locally and internationally. By coming into our home you will develop practical permaculture skills and enhance your theoretical knowledge.
    We have 11 acres , about 1/2 of which is under development.
    Our home is an owner built mudbrick house, fully solar powered and we are self reliant for both power and water.

     

    Hours of work expected

    Hours are variable,  generally a few hours in the morning and again later in the day in summer, 4-5 hours in the winter

  • The maximum time you can stay is one month
  • Accommodation is in the family home
  • Couples can be accommodated
  • You are expected to participate in the functioning of the home (i.e. cooking/cleaning etc)
  • Wifi is available